May 3, 2008

Journalism scholarships in Texas

  • Bess Whitehead Scott Journalism Scholarship: Grants $1,500 annually to a junior or senior college student pursuing a degree in journalism or a related field. Applicants must be currently enrolled at one of the following universities: Baylor University; Sam Houston State University; Texas A & M University; Texas State University; University of Mary Hardin-Baylor; or University of North Texas. Deadline: February 1. Click here for info.
  • NETPA Scholarships: The North and East Texas Press Association will award two $1,500 journalism scholarships this spring to "college-bound graduating high school seniors and actively enrolled college students from the NETPA region pursuing an education in print journalism." Applications must be postmarked by March 7. Applications can be downloaded from the NETPA website. Mail completed applications to Randy Keck, The Community New, Box 1031, Aledo, TX 76008.
  • Mark Holtz Memorial Sports Broadcast Journalism Scholarship: High school seniors living with a 75-mile radius of Dallas and intending to pursue a career in TV or radio sports journalism are eligible for this $2,000 scholarship sponsored by the Dallas Mavericks. Winner is recognized on court during halftime of a Mavericks game. Deadline: February.
  • Bob Craig Memorial Scholarships: $2,000 scholarship available for both high school seniors and college students who are interested in journalism careers and live in areas served by West Texas Press Association member newspapers. For more info and to download an application, click here. Deadline is June 19.

Location: Texas



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]